The Story of Stuff

The Story of Stuff

Thanks to the combination of specialization and production chains that span the globe, we consumers rarely get to see the whole picture. This book joins the dots, showing the impacts of resource extraction on local communities and the environment, making the link between games consoles, civil war, rape and rainforest destruction.

Buy this magazine

NI 433 - Deported! What happened next? - June, 2010
The Vegetarian Myth

The Vegetarian Myth

Lierre Keith has written a passionately argued, highly personal, and deeply informative book about the destructive and unsustainable nature of modern day agriculture – but disguised it as an argument against vegetarianism.

Buy this magazine

NI 432 - Iraq - seven years later - May, 2010
The Wayfinders

The Wayfinders

Why Ancient Wisdom Matters in the Modern World. By Wade Davis.

Buy this magazine

NI 431 - Bloody oil - shut down the tar sands! - April, 2010
The New Economics - a bigger picture

The New Economics - a bigger picture

Anyone who offers a diagnosis of the current economic malaise and prescribes a cure, but has not read this book, doesn’t know what they’re talking about.

Buy this magazine

NI 431 - Bloody oil - shut down the tar sands! - April, 2010
The Ticking is the Bomb

The Ticking is the Bomb

Part memoir, part social commentary, part philosophical inquiry, US writer Nick Flynn’s book builds on his earlier autobiography, Another Bullshit Night in Suck City.

Buy this magazine

NI 431 - Bloody oil - shut down the tar sands! - April, 2010
The Unit

The Unit

Ninni Holmqvist's début novel is a dystopia in the tradition of Margaret Atwood and Marge Piercy.

Buy this magazine

NI 430 - Globalization on the rocks - March, 2010
Going Rouge - Sarah Palin - An American Nightmare

Going Rouge - Sarah Palin - An American Nightmare

This book provides some amusing and insightful analysis of the way in which knee-jerk fundamentalism mixes with the celebrity sell to provide a personal narrative on which the hopes of the Republican Right have come to reside.

Buy this magazine

NI 430 - Globalization on the rocks - March, 2010
Beyond Reach?

Beyond Reach?

A fictionalized account of the 2005 Make Poverty History campaign.

Buy this magazine

NI 429 - Too many of us? The population panic. - January, 2010
Transforming Pakistan: Ways out of instability

Transforming Pakistan: Ways out of instability

Hilary Synnott’s book is a useful introduction to Pakistan’s past, present and possible future.

Buy this magazine

NI 428 - Welcome to Copenhagen! - December, 2009
Murder without Borders

Murder without Borders

Vancouver-based journalist Terry Gould tells the stories of six journalists who paid with their lives for refusing to surrender their conviction that journalism is meant to be about ‘telling the truth’.

Buy this magazine

NI 427 - Terror takeover - November, 2009
A Suitable Enemy

A Suitable Enemy

Racism, Migration and Islamophobia in Europe

Buy this magazine

NI 427 - Terror takeover - November, 2009
Natural Selection

Natural Selection

Szperling's short, punchy novel paints a vivid pen-portrait of the savage and amoral nature of this stratum of Argentinean society.

Buy this magazine

NI 426 - Islam in power - October, 2009
Thursday Night Widows

Thursday Night Widows

Nominally a thriller, Thursday Night Widows is less concerned with the 'whodunnit' aspects of plotting than with a psychological dissection of a social class obsessed with bickering and petty jealousies as the pillars of their world dissolve.

Buy this magazine

NI 426 - Islam in power - October, 2009

Articles in this category displayed as a table:

Article title From magazine Publication date
Life beyond growth July, 2010
Deported! What happened next? June, 2010
Deported! What happened next? June, 2010
Iraq - seven years later May, 2010
Iraq - seven years later May, 2010
Bloody oil - shut down the tar sands! April, 2010
Bloody oil - shut down the tar sands! April, 2010
Bloody oil - shut down the tar sands! April, 2010
Globalization on the rocks March, 2010
Globalization on the rocks March, 2010
Too many of us? The population panic. January, 2010
Too many of us? The population panic. January, 2010
Welcome to Copenhagen! December, 2009
Welcome to Copenhagen! December, 2009
Welcome to Copenhagen! December, 2009
Terror takeover November, 2009
Terror takeover November, 2009
Terror takeover November, 2009
Islam in power October, 2009
Islam in power October, 2009
Back